SCD Soy Sauce Substitute, No-Sugar Bacon, and Frozen Fruit Packs!

I have made a couple of interesting finds at the grocery store.

***EDIT (12/5/11): It turns out this sauce is probably not SCD legal. Coconut sap may be the same as palm sugar, which is not legal.*** So this sauce may be good for non-SCDers looking to avoid soy.***

The first is a soy-sauce type flavoring made with coconut! There is no soy at all in the ingredients. It is made by Coconut Secret. I have used a Coconut Sweetener in the past, so I was excited to see they are expanding their product line. I made some stir fry with the sauce. I wasn’t totally in love with the flavor on it’s own. It could be I was just expecting more of a soy sauce flavor. I think I may try making an Asian style sauce using this.

My next find was uncured bacon that does not have any sugar. The brand is Hempler’s Natural Uncured Bacon. I want to say it’s 100% SCD legal, but the last ingredient is celery powder. Unfortunately celery powder is on the illegal list, since it may contain some kind of starch. I am at the point where I don’t worry about that kind of thing so much, but I do have to say it’s an illegal ingredient. I still cook it very crispy. It’s still nice to find sugar free bacon. The phone number and web address of the company is in the following photo.

Lastly, I found these handy frozen fruit packs for smoothies. They are the perfect size for an indivual smooth, and they blend well. Just break them on and throw them in the blender with some yogurt and/or juice. These are made by Sol Bliss. The flavors I found at my store were Strawberry, Pineapple, Mango, and Papaya (I already ate the Mango, didn’t buy the Papaya). Their website says they also have Watermelon and Blueberry. I hope I can find those too! There is no sugar, and they are not made from concentrate.

Sherry Lipp
Latest posts by Sherry Lipp (see all)

Sherry Lipp

Sherry is a writer/blogger specializing in entertainment and food writing. She has been following a gluten, grain, and sugar-free diet for over 15 years and is the author of Don't Skip Dessert: Gluten-Free, Grain-Free & Sugar-Free Sweet Treats. She also enjoys writing about movies and television. You can find her entertainment articles at

Recommended Articles


  1. Interesting post… Thanks! I’ll have to look for that sauce and give it a try. As for bacon, ive found one that, as far as I can tell, is completely legal. Look for Organic Prairie brand uncured bacon…. I love it!

  2. Thanks! I’ll be on the lookout for that bacon. I was happy to find that sauce because usually looking at the Asian seasonings section is an exercise in futility.

  3. I have also been able to find a sugar free bacon at costco under the kirkland low sodium brand. The coconut sap products have really been coming out with some interesting stuff. I am not sure on the legality of it though?

  4. I thought coconut sweeteners/coconut sap were not SCD legal?

    Until recently I thought coconut water was legal (I tried a great product at the Weston Price Foundation conference made from coconut meat, coconut water and Himalayan Sea Salt), but then saw something on the SCD Yahoogroup saying the water is not legal so I’ve been looking at what from the coconut is legal and what isn’t and the coconut sugar/sap products have been mentioned as not legal in several places. Haven’t looked into why though…

  5. Hmm, I’m not sure. I checked the legal/illegal list on the BTVC site. I don’t see that specifically. Coconut is legal, coconut milk is legal after six months, and coconut oil is legal. I guess I can’t say for sure, I assumed it is was legal.

  6. I would suspect that the coconut “soy sauce” stuff is illegal. Coconut sap sugar is illegal and I”m guessing that aged coconut sap is code for coconut sugar. Check the label – what is the sugar and carbohydrate level? You may want to at least keep this in mind if you develop problems.


  7. Thanks everyone. You are probably right. I was thinking because it is the sap that it was okay. @Paul. I will check the nutrition info. I’m not worried about myself so much, I just don’t want to pass along bad info to people reading this blog. I’m going to edit the body of this post actually.

    I actually don’t seem to have trouble with sweeteners luckily. I still stick to honey mostly because that is the easiest way to stay safe. I just don’t want to recommend anything that is not SCD legal (unless I explicitly say it is not legal).

  8. This is a great topic! Some people have described coconut aminos as sweet thus I would say coconut aminos is illegal. I would agree with Paul since coconut sap sugar is illegal then coconut aminos is probably illegal too! But it would be nice to know for sure.

Leave a Reply to Susan Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: